Posted in Gardening

Garden Rehab

One of the things I enjoy about summer, is my gardens. They’re looking pretty good right now…..

But. I’ve made a mistake or two along the way….

This ribbon grass is the main mistake (we’ll discuss mint another day….). It started out okay. In fact, there was a time it was beautiful. Lately though, not so much. It’s my own fault. As the center started to die out, I should have been digging and dividing the living clumps. But. I didn’t and I ended up with  a lot of this….

Dead patches of the grass mixed with grassy weeds. I was sick of it! Digging all this out seemed like an unsurmountable task. There had to be a better (and quicker) way!

So, I had hubby spray it to kill it. Don’t get me wrong, I COULD have sprayed it. But. He was on a spray kick, so, why not let him do it? Then. Because he was on a weedeating kick, he whacked it down short too….

I covered the area with cardboard to prevent suppress any weed seeds/grass from sprouting.

Put the sprinkler on to wet it down.

Covered the cardboard with a mixture of soil and horse manure (since I have horses, I have lots available!).

Turned the sprinkler on again to wet everything down.

Now, I’m all ready to start planting! Because really? Isn’t that the fun part?!?!

I’ve got some plants all planned out for planting. I’ll let you know my progress. Come to think of it, I’ll share some posts on some of my favorite plants to plant! Until then…..Happy Gardening!

Author:

Hi! I'm Lori! Welcome to my little corner of the blogging world! My hubby and I live on a small farm in Eastern Oregon with our dog, cats, chickens, horses and a mule. I work full-time as a department lead at the nursery department of a local hardware store. I'm also an Independent Pampered Chef consultant as I love to cook and bake. You'll discover I have wa-a-a-ay too many hobbies for the amount of "spare time" I have. So, I'll just keep muddling though this life.....

Leave a Reply

