Posted in Knitting, Socks, WIPS

Sock Progress

I hadn’t realized this, but I haven’t written a post since March 4th. Okay. Granted, I’ve been busy….but, March 4th. That’s well over a month! That means I missed Saint Patrick’s Day, the First day of Spring and Easter (and anything else I missed!)….. So, I hope everyone had a great March and first half of April.

I know this is a busy time of the year in my life as I work in the nursery department of our local hardware store. At this time of year, it’s all plants, patio furniture, BBQ’s, fountains, soils and garden chemicals in my life. Ordering, watering, loading, stocking, selling, re-stocking….you get the idea. But. I don’t want to neglect the blog either. I’ll try to do better. 😉

This morning I’m starting the heel of my socks (as mentioned in this post). An AfterThought Heel to be exact. It’s really the only heel I’ve ever done, as I’ve only ever knit 2 pairs (of epic fail) socks before. AND. I like it! If I’m going to knit socks (and I might, because this 2 sock yarns held together is working out really well for me so far), this is the heel I choose!

It’s great for me, because I just knit around and around until I get to where the heel should start. Knit the heel stitches onto waste yarn, knit around and around until I bind off the cuffs (it could be done the other way too if you wanted to start with a cuff down sock….) with a Stretchy Bind-off.

Now, I just come back to the waste yarn, pick up the stitches above and below the waste yarn. Remove waste yarn and now I have an open hole to knit the heel with….

It’s genius really! And perfect for those of us who can’t figure out what’s going on with a “real heel”!

Well. That’s all for now folks….I’ve got heels to knit. Hopefully soon, I’ll have finished socks to show you!

Author:

Hi! I'm Lori! Welcome to my little corner of the blogging world! My hubby and I live on a small farm in Eastern Oregon with our dog, cats, chickens, horses and a mule. I work full-time as a department lead at the nursery department of a local hardware store. I'm also an Independent Pampered Chef consultant as I love to cook and bake. You'll discover I have wa-a-a-ay too many hobbies for the amount of "spare time" I have. So, I'll just keep muddling though this life.....

Leave a Reply

