Posted in Breakfast/Brunch, Recipes

A Breakfast Casserole

img_2967

If you need a hearty (easy) casserole for Christmas morning (or any day really….), here it is! And. When I say recipe, that’s not really true. It’s really more of a method. No matter what you call it, it’s YUMMY!

Here’s the basics…..

img_2959

In a buttered 9×13 casserole dish, spread a layer of frozen hashbrowns (about 1/2 of a 30oz.bag….approximately). Bake at 400F until hashbrowns are browned. Turning a couple of times for better browning. I use my Pampered Chef Rectangular Baker and it browns them perfectly. I’ve used my Pyrex pan and I haven’t had good browning results. That’s just my personal experience, see what works for you.

img_2961

While the hashbrowns are baking, cut up about 4-5 cups of ham (you could also use cooked bacon or sausage, if you prefer). Grate about 4-5 cups of cheese (any variety you have on hand….I LOVE Swiss, but I never seem to have it on hand….). And. Whip up 10-12 eggs with a splash of heavy cream. Season with salt and pepper. You could also add fresh or dried herbs if you like….fresh chives would be wonderful!

Now just start layering….ham on top of the hashbrowns. Eggs over the ham . Cheese over the eggs. Turn oven down to 350F and return to bake 30 to 40 minutes or until eggs are set.

img_2966

Serve while warm. Enjoy!

 

Author:

Hi! I'm Lori! Welcome to my little corner of the blogging world! My hubby and I live on a small farm in Eastern Oregon with our dog, cats, chickens, horses and a mule. I work full-time as a department lead at the nursery department of a local hardware store. I'm also an Independent Pampered Chef consultant as I love to cook and bake. You'll discover I have wa-a-a-ay too many hobbies for the amount of "spare time" I have. So, I'll just keep muddling though this life.....

Leave a Reply

